On Silver Wings is military sci-fi at its best – a strong, central character, ground combat as well as space battles underpinned by a story that builds up to a totally unexpected revelation and wider insight that I did not anticipate. It begins with Sgt Sorilla Aida unexpectedly stumbling into the start of a war on Hayden, one of Earth’s colonies and follows her through various different pivotal roles she plays over the coming years.

I am a huge Evan Currie fan, I never know where his stories will lead, but as usual, he hasn’t disappointed and each book in this series reveals just that little bit more of where the plot is going to make me wait impatiently for the next book in the series. The On Silver Wings series currently consists out of 6 books, each equally engrossing.

Product Information

Retailer: Amazon Kindle 

Price: ± £1.99 – £3.49

On Silver Wings (Book 1), Valkyrie Rising (Book 2), Valkyrie Burning (On Silver Wings Book 3), The Valhalla Call (Book 4), By Other Means (Book 5), De Oppresso Liber (Book 6).

About Evan Currie

evan currieEvan Currie is a Canadian author who has been writing both original and fan fiction works since the early 2000s and finally decided to make the jump to self-publishing with his techno-thriller Thermals. Since then he has turned out novels in the Warrior’s Wings series, the Odyssey One series, and the first book in an alternate history series set during the height of the Roman Era.

Evan has been writing most of his life in one format or another and, though his post-secondary education in computer sciences and has worked in the local lobster industry steadily over the last decade, writing has always been his true passion. “It’s what I do for fun and to relax, there’s not much I can imagine better than being a storyteller.”


The On Silver Wings series currently consists out of 6 books, each around 250 pages long. They are brilliant quick-read books, the kind that pulls you in and refuses to let go until the last page.

  • Target age range: Adults
  • Target gender: Gender neutral
  • Target audience: Wide-ranging audience with an interest in military science-fiction.

triggers 100




Environment & People

Build quality


£1.99 – £3.50 for a book, under £15 for the complete series is a fantastic price for many hours of enjoyment.


Format: Kindle Edition
File Size: 390 – 1117 KB
Print Length: around 250 pages each
Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
Language: English
Text-to-Speech: Enabled
X-Ray: Enabled
Word Wise: Enabled
Enhanced Typesetting: Not Enabled


* Kindle capable device.


Evan Currie is one of the best contemporary science-fiction authors currently writing military science fiction and On Silver wings is a highly enjoyable series. Easy to read with engaging characters. The series is a great piece of military sci-fi with a strong female lead set in an interesting universe. Recommended.

Ergohacks Essential


The review is based on the On Silver Wing series read and recently reread. This article was first published on 16 April 2016 and last updated on 24 June 2016.